Texas Organizations Call For the Resignation of Texas Politicians Complicit in Attack on U.S. Capitol

5 mins read
Press conference calling for accountability for TX officials

A coalition of more than 70 organizations across Texas have organized a virtual press conference to call for the resignation of 18 Texas politicians complicit in the recent domestic terrorist attack on the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C. The attack was enabled by extremist politicians, many of whom represent Texans. These politicians have proven themselves entirely unfit for office and must resign.

As we all know, on Jan. 6, 2021, a violent mob of extremists, motivated by conspiracies sowed by the White House, stormed into the U.S. Capitol, forcing legislators and their staff to barricade with the protection of armed guards. After hearing an address with yet more incendiary rhetoric from the now former president, the extremists forced their way inside the Capitol building where they carried a Confederate flag through the rotunda and threatened lawmakers and our seat of government. 

Some elected officials in Texas inspired, encouraged, and abetted these domestic terrorists. They have made a mockery of democracy by embracing the fascist rhetoric of a far-right figurehead with a far-right movement behind him. They have suppressed votes while lying about the nature of our election system and sullying our elections while opposing their legally legitimate losses. This coalition calls for the resignations of:

Senator Ted Cruz
Attorney General Ken Paxton 
Representative Jody Arrington 
Representative Brian Babin 
Representative Michael C. Burgess
Representative John R. Carter
Representative Michael Cloud 
Representative Pat Fallon
Representative Louie Gohmert 

Representative Lance Gooden 
Representative Ronny Jackson 
Representative Troy Nehls
Representative August Pfluger 
Representative Pete Sessions 
Representative Beth Van Duyne 
Representative Randy Weber 
Representative Roger Williams 
Representative Ron Wright

We invite media to join us this Saturday, Jan. 23 at 12:00 pm as we demand accountability for our complicit Texas officials. Speakers at the press conference include:

  • Neil Aquino, Indivisible Houston
  • Dr. Candice Matthews, Texas Coalition of Democrats, Harris County Chapter
  • Chanté Davis, Sunrise Houston
  • Rep. Ron Reynolds, Texas House District 27
  • Cristina Ramirez, JOLT, Latino Families, U.S. Senate candidate
  • Alexander Montalvo, Indivisible TX Lege

RSVP for the press conference here. The public can also watch on Facebook or YouTube.

Visit the TX lege website for more information.

Coalition Partners

Indivisible TX Lege 
ACLU/Indivisible East Dallas Supporters 
Action South Texas 
Arlington Area Texas Democratic Women 
Bay Area Democratic Movement
Bayou Blue Democrats 
Black Lives Matter Houston
Blue Outpost TX 
CAIR Houston 
Coalition of Labor Union Women (CLUW) GPA 
Corpus Christi Indivisible 
Cy-Fair Area Democratic Club 
Democracy for Houston 
Democratic Club of The Woodlands 
Dylan Forbis TDP SDEC 11 Committee Member
Energy and Environmental Democrats 
Extinction Rebellion Houston 
Far Northwest Progressives of Travis County
FIEL Houston 
Field Team 6 
Flip The Texas House 
Harris County SD17 Democrats 
Harris County Young Democrats 
Houston Area Stonewall Democrats 
Houston Women March On 
Houston Youth Climate Strike 
Humble Area Democrats 
Indivisible 121 
Indivisible Arlington 
Indivisible Austin 
Indivisible Fort Worth 
Indivisible Grapevine Area 
Indivisible Healthcare Fort Worth 
Indivisible Houston 
Indivisible Katy Huddle 
Indivisible South Texas 
Indivisible TX-24 
The John Cornyn Tuesday Protest 
Jolt Action 
Katy 4 Justice 
Lake Highlands White Rock Democrats
Latino Families Forward 
March For Our Lives Houston 
National Lawyers Guild — San Antonio Chapter, Inc.
Nueces County Democratic Party 
Our Revolution Brazoria/Fort Bend County
Our Revolution Harris County
Our Revolution Texas 
The PAC for Progressive Texas Women
Pantsuit Republic Texas
Pearland Youth Movement 
Pod Bless Texas 
Progressive Women of Arlington, TX
Public Citizen 
Represent Texas 
Representative Ron Reynolds, Texas House District 27
Representative Vikki Goodwin, Texas House District 47
Rideshare2Vote, LLC
ROADwomen (River Oaks Area Democratic Women)
Say Her Name HTX 
SD15 Democrats 
SD4 Harris County 
Secular Democrats of Texas 
Senate District 2 Democrats 
Showing Up for Racial Justice—Dallas/Fort Worth
Socialist Alternative-Houston 
Southwest Democrats 
The Spring Democratic Club 
Sunrise Houston 
Tarrant Together
Texas Blue Action Democrats
Texas Coalition of Black Democrats Harris County Chapter
Texas Environmental Democrats 
Texas Rural Voices 
The Funky East Dallas Democrats (The FEDDs)
Transcript Research 
United Fort Worth 
United We Dream 
Wimberly Indivisible 
Women of Dallas United For Action (WDUA)

DemCast is an advocacy-based 501(c)4 nonprofit. We have made the decision to build a media site free of outside influence. There are no ads. We do not get paid for clicks. If you appreciate our content, please consider a small monthly donation.

DemCast is an advocacy-based 501(c)4 nonprofit. We have made the decision to build a media site free of outside influence. There are no ads. We do not get paid for clicks, but are sustained solely on donations from grassroots supporters. Because our revenue isn’t click-driven, we don’t take in any direct revenue from the creative contributions of grassroots activists who post on the site. This sets us apart from other media sites. And we’re proud of that.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Story

From Hesitancy to Acceptance: the Covid-19 Vaccine

Next Story

The Week That Was

Latest from Call To Action

%d bloggers like this: